• Maryland & Delaware Fastpitch Softball / Baseball

Batter skipped - how many outs?

softball equipment

Batter skipped - how many outs?

  • No one logged in.

09-Aug-2017 12:02 PM

Scott

Posts: 2

Team A sends up their #6 batter to lead off the 3rd inning. However, their #5 batter is due up. After the #6 batter pops up the 1st pitch for out #1, Team B brings the batting-out-of-order to the umpires attention. Is it 2 outs, or 1 out?

Thanks

 

Reply Mark As Spam

09-Aug-2017 12:52 PM

Not Available

Posts: 6

one (1) out

Rule 9.10.A
#5 (the proper batter) is declared out on appeal.
#6's out does not stand.
#6 becomes the next batter

------------------------------

John Dye
Maryland State Umpire in Chief
Softball Umpires of Maryland
mdumps.com


Reply Mark As Spam

10-Aug-2017 01:47 PM

Scott

Posts: 2

Ok. The umpire also ruled 1 out, but it was the #6 batter. Just gave the Mgr a warning for skipping #5 and #7 came up. Thanks 
Reply Mark As Spam
Go Back

Our Partners

Howard County Recreation & Parks
Ocean City, MD
Maasa
Turn 2 Sports
Glory Days Grill
Marpsa
Wicomico County Tourism
Howard County Tourism
Anne Arundel County Tourism
Loudoun County Tourism
Maryland Sports

TOP