• Maryland & Delaware Fastpitch Softball / Baseball

What's the Rule

softball equipment

What's the Rule

  • No one logged in.

10-Apr-2017 09:10 AM

Coach_Buddy

Posts: 13

A little pop-up is hit half way down the first base line. Pitcher and First Baseman converge. The batter-runner collides with the pitcher, who then hits the 1st baseman. The ball hits the ground and is called foul. 

Is this call correct?

Reply Mark As Spam

13-Apr-2017 02:19 PM

carla

Posts: 8

Coach Buddy,

Below is the response from the Maryland State UIC regarding the situation as you have presented it:

There are a lot of if's and judgments involved.


The fielder making an initial play on a batted ball can not be interfered with.
However the rulebook does not give two fielders the right of way.
A judgment decision must be made if the pitcher or the first baseman has the right to the ball.


If it is the First Baseman, then the pitcher has committed obstruction.
But since it was a foul ball, the Batter Runner merely returns to continue batting.


If the pitcher is considered to be the one with a right to the ball, the Batter Runner has committed interference.
Dead Ball, Batter Runner is Out, All other runners return.



Reply Mark As Spam

01-May-2017 09:38 AM

essoftball

Posts: 1

The batter gets hit in the foot by a pitch and the ball is diverted away from the catcher. The umpire calls a ball. The batter leaves the batters box limping, a sign that she has been hit, trying to walk the pain off. The umpire says that she was not hit. The coach asks the field umpire standing behind first base to make the call and he said that he did not see it. What can a coach do in that situation?
Reply Mark As Spam

01-May-2017 08:12 PM

essoftball

Posts: 1

The batter gets hit in the foot by a pitch and the ball is diverted away from the catcher. The umpire calls a ball. The batter leaves the batters box limping, a sign that she has been hit, trying to walk the pain off. The umpire says that she was not hit. The coach asks the field umpire standing behind first base to make the call and he said that he did not see it. What can a coach do in that situation?
Reply Mark As Spam

01-May-2017 10:41 PM

Not Available

Posts: 6

Whether a batter was hit by a pitched ball or not is a judgement call. 

Judgement calls can not be protested.
Beyond talking to the Umpires, there is nothing that can be done.

Reply Mark As Spam
Go Back

Our Partners

Howard County Recreation & Parks
Ocean City, MD
Maasa
Turn 2 Sports
Glory Days Grill
Marpsa
Wicomico County Tourism
Howard County Tourism
Anne Arundel County Tourism
Loudoun County Tourism
Maryland Sports

TOP